CBTU Congratulates New Federal Cabinet Ministers

Nov 20, 2019

Canada’s Building Trades Unions (CBTU) congratulate the newly appointed Prime Minister’s Cabinet.

The CBTU values the relationship with the Federal Government and the opportunity to continue to work collaboratively with them to maintain focus on our priorities. That includes building Canada with skilled, organized tradespeople from coast to coast; incorporating a skilled trades mobility program into the tax system; investing in energy infrastructure, including a national energy corridor that utilizes pipelines, supports climate change goals and creates jobs for building trades members; applying community benefits agreements to public infrastructure, as well as energy projects with a focus on recruiting underrepresented groups and veterans; building upon the 2018 asbestos ban including the establishment of a national asbestos agency and mesothelioma registry; and instituting a national pharmacare program.

“Today, first and foremost, we want to congratulate Prime Minister Trudeau and his newly-appointed Cabinet. Building Trades members across Canada look forward to continuing our close working relationship with this government and building upon the robust investment into the skilled trades that we’ve seen over the last four years,” said Arlene Dunn, Director of the CBTU. “We had the good fortune of working with strong leaders in the previous Cabinet who were dedicated to their respective files and understood the issues that matter to our industry and working Canadians. We thank them for taking the time to visit our events and training centres, meet with our leadership and address our rank and file members at our annual legislative conference.”

The new gender-balanced Cabinet includes strong leadership including Chrystia Freeland, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs; Catherine McKenna as Minister of Infrastructure and Communities; Carla Qualtrough, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Disability Inclusion; Patty Hajdu, Minister of Health; Anita Anand, Minister of Public Services and Procurement; Bardish Chagger, Minister of Diversity, Inclusion and Youth; and Filomena Tassi as Minister of Labour; as well as Seamus O’Regan, Minister of Natural Resources; Francois-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Foreign Affairs; Marc Miller, Minister of Indigenous Services; and Maryam Monsef, as Minister of Women and Gender Equality and Rural Economic Development.

“The Building Trades welcome the opportunity to meet with the newly appointed Cabinet Ministers, as well as those returning, to share all of the great things Building Trades members do to contribute to our communities, serve our fellow citizens, and build a skilled, productive workforce that will continue to construct and maintain the soundest and most reliable infrastructure in the world to ensure the safety and protection of all Canadians,” concluded Dunn.